STUDENTS

Jill Arriola
Jill Arriola

Email: arriola@email.unc.edu
Office: 3105D Murray Hall
Advisor: Jaye Cable

Area of Interest: Geochronology and biogeochemistry of salt marsh sediments

Taylor Asher
Taylor Asher

Email: tgasher@live.unc.edu
Office: 3117V Murray Hall
Advisor: Rick Luettich

Area of Interest: Hydrodynamics and statistical/physical flood hazards

Malcolm Barnard
Malcolm Barnard

Email: malcolm.barnard@unc.edu
Office: 3105A Murray Hall
Advisor: Hans Paerl

Area of Interest: CyanoHAB dynamics, limnetic phycology, and ecotoxicology

Website/Links:

Twitter: @mabecologist

Martin Benavides
Martin Benavides

Email: mtb0703@live.unc.edu
Office: UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: Joel Fodrie

Area of Interest: Coastal shark ecology, what controls the distribution and movement of sharks in the nearshore environment

Molly Bost
Molly Bost

Email: mbost@live.unc.edu
Office: 110 Coker, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Co-Advisor: Brent McKee and Antonio Rodriguez

Area of Interest: Geochronology and biogeochemistry in coastal sediments

Website/Links:

Rodriguez Lab Website

Jessica Boulton
Jessica Boulton

Email: jboulton@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105A Murray Hall
Advisor: Scott Gifford

Area of Interest: Marine microbiology and ecological transcriptomics

Rachel Canty
Rachel Canty

Email: rcanty@live.unc.edu
Office: 265 Coker, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: Rachel Noble

Area of Interest: Coastal microbial ecology

Christopher Chambers
Christopher Chambers

Email: crchambe@live.unc.edu
Office: 3117X Murray Hall
Advisor: Andreas Teske

Area of Interest: Microbial biogeochemistry

Si Chen
Si Chen

Email: sichen@live.unc.edu
Office: 3117L Murray Hall
Advisor: Brian White

Area of Interest: Fluid Mechanics, Acoustics

Sarah Donaher
Sarah Donaher

Email: sdonaher@live.unc.edu
Office: UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: Charles Peterson

Area of Interest: Coastal Resilience Ecology

Linghan Dong
Linghan Dong

Email: lhdong@email.unc.edu
Office: UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: Hans Paerl

Area of Interest: Phytoplankton Bloom Dynamics

Laura Fisch
Laura Fisch

Email: fischy@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105B Murray Hall
Advisor: Scott Gifford

Area of Interest: Carbon cycling in marine microbial communities

Jie Gao
Jie Gao

Email: jiegao@email.unc.edu
Office: UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: Rick Luettich

Area of Interest: Use of Numerical Models to Study Hurricane Induced Storm Surge and Inundation

Weida Gong
Weida Gong

Email: wdgong@live.unc.edu
Office: 3117K Murray Hall
Advisor: Adrian Marchetti

Area of Interest: Phytoplankton molecular physiology, marine ecology, bioinformatics

Nataly Guevara
Nataly Guevara

Email: nguevara@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105B Murray Hall
Advisor: Scott Gifford

Jana Haddad
Jana Haddad

Email: jhaddad2@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105E Murray Hall
Advisor: Rick Luettich

Area of Interest: Coastal processes, hydrodynamic modeling

Lu Han
Lu Han

Email: luh@live.unc.edu
Office: 3309 Venable Hall
Advisor: Harvey Seim

Area of Interest: Physical oceanography & meteorology and coastal water dynamics

Adrienne Hoarfrost
Adrienne Hoarfrost

Email: adrienne.l.hoarfrost@unc.edu
Office: 3117Y Murray Hall
Advisor: Carol Arnosti

Area of Interest: Organic Carbon Biogeochemistry

Alexandria Hounshell
Alexandria Hounshell

Email: alexgh@live.unc.edu
Office: UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: Hans Paerl

Area of Interest: Organic Nitrogen cycling in freshwater and estuarine ecosystems

Kelsey Jesser
Kelsey Jesser

Email: kjesser@live.unc.edu
Office: UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: Rachel Noble

Area of Interest: Coastal microbial ecology

Chuxuan Li
Chuxuan Li

Email: chuxuan@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105B Murray Hall
Advisor: Wei Mei

Area of Interest: Ocean-Atmosphere Interactions; Global and Regional Climate Variability and Predictability; and Natural Hazards and Risk Assessment

Shuo Li
Shuo Li

Email: shuo@live.unc.edu
Office: 3202C Murray Hall
Advisor: Wei Mei

Area of Interest: Hurricanes; Climate Change

Johnson (YuanYu) Lin
Johnson (YuanYu) Lin

Email: johnsony@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105C Murray Hall
Advisor: Adrian Marchetti

Area of Interest: Phytoplankton physiology and marine microbiology

Wenjing Liu
Wenjing Liu

Email: wjliu01@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105B Murray Hall
Advisor: Wei Mei

Area of Interest: Tropical cyclones

C. Chad Lloyd
C. Chad Lloyd

Email: cclloyd@live.unc.edu
Office: 3117L Murray Hall
Advisor: Carol Arnosti

Area of Interest: Chemical oceanography and the carbon cycle

Website/Links:

Twitter: @chadiuslloyd

Jonathan Lucas
Jonathan Lucas

Email: jonlucas@live.unc.edu
Office: UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: Joel Fodrie

Area of Interest: Estuarine Ecology

Saulo Mendes
Saulo Mendes

Email: saulomp@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105C Murray Hall
Advisor: Alberto Scotti

Area of Interest: Geophysical Fluid Dynamics and Nonlinear Water Waves

Carson Miller
Carson Miller

Email: carsonm@live.unc.edu
Office: UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: Antonio Rodriguez

Area of Interest: Coastal transgression and geomorphology

Elaine Monbureau
Elaine Monbureau

Email: emonbure@email.unc.edu
Office: 3117W Murray Hall
Advisor: Brian White

Area of Interest: Fluid Dynamics

Carly Moreno
Carly Moreno

Email: cmmoreno@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105E Murray Hall
Advisor: Adrian Marchetti

Area of Interest: Phytoplankton Molecular Physiology

Mike Muglia
Mike Muglia

Email: muglia@csi.northcarolina.edu
Office: UNC Coastal Studies Institute on Roanoke Island, (Skyco) North Carolina
Advisor: Harvey Seim

Area of Interest: Coastal Physical Oceanography

Owen Mulvey-McFerron
Owen Mulvey-McFerron

Email: mulveymo@live.unc.edu
Office: UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: Joel Fodrie

Area of Interest: Fisheries ecology

Website/Links:

Fodrie Lab Website

Erika Neave
Erika Neave

Email: eneave@live.unc.edu
Office: 3309 Venable Hall
Advisor: Adrian Marchetti

Area of Interest: Phytoplankton Ecology

John D. Ratcliff
John D. Ratcliff

Email: jddratli@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105A Murray Hall
Advisor: Rick Luettich

Area of Interest: Physical Oceanography / Storm Surge Modeling

John (JP) Rippe
John (JP) Rippe

Email: jpr6mg@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105D Murray Hall
Advisor: Karl Castillo

Area of Interest: Coral Reef Ecology and Conservation

Adam Rok
Adam Rok

Email: rok@live.unc.edu
Office: 3309 Venable Hall
Advisor: Christopher Martens

Area of Interest: Marine Biogeochemistry and how systems interact with each other

Carter Smith
Carter Smith

Email: Scarters@live.unc.edu
Office: UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: Charles "Pete" Peterson

Area of Interest: Coastal Ecology

Stephanie Smith
Stephanie Smith

Email: stesmith@live.unc.edu
Office: 3117X Murray Hall
Advisor: Alecia Septer

Area of Interest: Marine microbial interactions

Lauren Speare
Lauren Speare

Email: lspeare@live.unc.edu
Office: 3117V Murray Hall
Advisor: Alecia Septer

Area of Interest: Marine Microbial Ecology

Jessamin Straub
Jessamin Straub

Email: jessamin@live.unc.edu
Office: 110 Coker Hall, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Co-Advisor: Antonio Rodriguez and Rick Luettich

Area of Interest: Coastal Geology, Coastal Hazards and Resilience

Website/Links:

Working with the Coastal Resilience Center

Zack Taebel
Zack Taebel

Email: taebel@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105A Murray Hall
Advisor: Alberto Scotti

Area of Interest: Nonlinear Surface Waves

Maxwell Tice-Lewis
Maxwell Tice-Lewis

Email: mwell13@ad.unc.edu
Office: UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: F. Joel Fodrie

Area of Interest: Fisheries ecology with a focus on oyster reef macrofaunal community dynamics over space and time

Tim Wahl
Tim Wahl

Email: twahl@live.unc.edu
Office: 3309 Venable Hall
Advisor: Christopher Martens

Area of Interest: Coastal biogeochemistry and nutrient cycling

Mollie Yacano
Mollie Yacano

Email: moyacano@live.unc.edu
Office: 266 Coker, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: Michael Piehler

Area of Interest: Coastal biogeochemistry

Barbara Zemskova
Barbara Zemskova

Email: zemskova@live.unc.edu
Office: 3117W Murray Hall
Advisor: Brian White

Area of Interest: Fluid Dynamics