Skip to main content

STUDENTS

Taylor Asher
Taylor Asher

Email: tgasher@live.unc.edu
Office: 3117V Murray Hall
Advisor: Rick Luettich

Area of Interest: Hydrodynamics and statistical/physical flood hazards

Malcolm Barnard
Malcolm Barnard

Email: malcolm.barnard@unc.edu
Office: 3105A Murray Hall
Advisor: Hans Paerl

Area of Interest: CyanoHAB dynamics, limnetic phycology, and ecotoxicology

Website/Links:

Twitter: @mabecologist

Scott Booth
Scott Booth

Email: mscottb@ad.unc.edu
Office: Murray/Venable Hall
Advisor: Dr. Brent McKee

Area of Interest: Coastal geochemistry and sediment transport

Molly Bost
Molly Bost

Email: mbost@live.unc.edu
Office: 110 Coker, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Co-Advisor: Brent McKee and Antonio Rodriguez

Area of Interest: Geochronology and biogeochemistry in coastal sediments

Website/Links:

Rodriguez Lab Website

Jessica Boulton
Jessica Boulton

Email: jboulton@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105A Murray Hall
Advisor: Scott Gifford

Area of Interest: Marine microbiology and ecological transcriptomics

Christopher Chambers
Christopher Chambers

Email: crchambe@live.unc.edu
Office: 3117X Murray Hall
Advisor: Andreas Teske

Area of Interest: Microbial biogeochemistry

Yun Chang
Yun Chang

Email: yunchang@email.unc.edu
Office: Murray/Venable Hall
Advisor: Dr. Alberto Scotti

Mark Ciesielski
Mark Ciesielski

Email: mciesi3@unc.edu
Office: 3105A Murray Hall
Advisor: Dr. Rachel Noble

Area of Interest: Molecular biology applications for understanding viral and bacterial pathogen’s in complex systems

Melanie Cohn
Melanie Cohn

Email: mcohn@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105A Murray Hall
Advisor: Scott Gifford

Area of Interest: Role of marine bacterial metabolism in carbon cycling

Ileana Fenwick
Ileana Fenwick

Email: ileanaf@email.unc.edu
Office: Murray/Venable Hall
Advisor: Dr. Janet Nye

Aliyah Griffith
Aliyah Griffith

Email: aliyahg@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105A Murray Hall
Advisor: Dr. Karl Castillo

Area of Interest: Coral Reef Ecophysiology and Conservation

Website/Links:

twitter: @CnidarianNerd

Nataly Guevara
Nataly Guevara

Email: nguevara@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105B Murray Hall
Advisor: Scott Gifford

Jana Haddad
Jana Haddad

Email: jhaddad2@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105E Murray Hall
Advisor: Rick Luettich

Area of Interest: Coastal processes, hydrodynamic modeling

Lu Han
Lu Han

Email: luh@live.unc.edu
Office: 3309 Venable Hall
Advisor: Harvey Seim

Area of Interest: Physical oceanography & meteorology and coastal water dynamics

Josh Himmelstein
Josh Himmelstein

Email: jhimmel@email.unc.edu
Office: Murray/Venable Hall
Advisor: Dr. Antonio Rodriguez

Area of Interest: Coastal landform evolution in the Anthropocene

Website/Links:

On Twitter @joshimmel

Shuo Li
Shuo Li

Email: shuo@live.unc.edu
Office: 3202C Murray Hall
Advisor: Wei Mei

Area of Interest: Hurricanes; Climate Change

Johnson (YuanYu) Lin
Johnson (YuanYu) Lin

Email: johnsony@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105C Murray Hall
Advisor: Adrian Marchetti

Area of Interest: Phytoplankton physiology and marine microbiology

C. Chad Lloyd
C. Chad Lloyd

Email: cclloyd@live.unc.edu
Office: 3117L Murray Hall
Advisor: Carol Arnosti

Area of Interest: Chemical oceanography and the carbon cycle

Website/Links:

Twitter: @chadiuslloyd

Jonathan Lucas
Jonathan Lucas

Email: jonlucas@live.unc.edu
Office: UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: Joel Fodrie

Area of Interest: Estuarine Ecology

John Malito
John Malito

Email: jgm2583@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105B Murray Hall
Advisor: Emily Eidam

Area of Interest: Coastal Sediment Dynamics in the Arctic

Website/Links:

Twitter: @JMalito_GeoSci

Meredith Meyer
Meredith Meyer

Email: mgmeyer9@email.unc.edu
Office: 3105E
Advisor: Dr. Adrian Marchetti

Area of Interest: Phytoplankton Ecology & Physiology and Carbon Cycling

Website/Links:

Twitter: @mgmeyer9

Carly Moreno
Carly Moreno

Email: cmmoreno@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105E Murray Hall
Advisor: Adrian Marchetti

Area of Interest: Phytoplankton Molecular Physiology

John D. Ratcliff
John D. Ratcliff

Email: jddratli@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105A Murray Hall
Advisor: Rick Luettich

Area of Interest: Physical Oceanography / Storm Surge Modeling

Anne Smiley
Anne Smiley

Email: ahsmiley@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105B Murray Hall
Advisor: Dr. Mike Piehler

Area of Interest: Biogeochemistry, ecology, and coastal resilience

Stephanie Smith
Stephanie Smith

Email: stesmith@live.unc.edu
Office: 3117X Murray Hall
Advisor: Alecia Septer

Area of Interest: Marine microbial interactions

Tyler Souza
Tyler Souza

Email: tytysou@live.unc.edu
Office: Murray/Venable Hall
Advisor: Dr. Emily Eidam

Lauren Speare
Lauren Speare

Email: lspeare@live.unc.edu
Office: 3117V Murray Hall
Advisor: Alecia Septer

Area of Interest: Marine Microbial Ecology

Mark James Stoops
Mark James Stoops

Email: majastoo@email.unc.edu
Office: 3105B Murray Hall
Advisor: Dr. Rachel Noble

Area of Interest: Environmental and Marine Microbiology

Zack Taebel
Zack Taebel

Email: taebel@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105A Murray Hall
Advisor: Alberto Scotti

Area of Interest: Nonlinear Surface Waves

Mollie Yacano
Mollie Yacano

Email: moyacano@live.unc.edu
Office: 266 Coker, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: Michael Piehler

Area of Interest: Coastal biogeochemistry

Acacia Zhao
Acacia Zhao

Email: acacia@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105A Murray Hall
Advisor: Dr. Scott Gifford

Area of Interest: Marine microbiology and carbon cycling