STUDENTS

Jill Arriola
Jill Arriola

Email: arriola@email.unc.edu
Office: 4202S Venable/Murray Hall
Advisor: Jaye Cable

Area of Interest: Geochronology and biogeochemistry of salt marsh sediments

Taylor Asher
Taylor Asher

Email: tgasher@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105B Murray/Venable Hall
Advisor: Rick Luettich

Area of Interest: Hydrodynamics and statistical/physical flood hazards

Anna Atencio
Anna Atencio

Email: aatencio@live.unc.edu

Advisor: Brent McKee

Area of Interest: Coastal Geology and Geochronology

John Paul Balmonte
John Paul Balmonte

Email: balmonte@email.unc.edu
Office: 3305 Venable/Murray Hall
Co-Advisor: Andreas Teske and Carol Arnosti

Area of Interest: Linking community dynamics and ecosystem function of aquatic and marine bacteria to understand their role in global carbon cycling

Justin Baumann
Justin Baumann

Email: baumannj@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105A Venable/Murray Hall
Advisor: Karl Castillo

Area of Interest: Coral reef ecology/ biogeochemistry

Website/Links:

- UNdertheCblog
- Rufford Foundation Profile

Martin Benavides
Martin Benavides

Email: mtb0703@live.unc.edu
Office: UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: Joel Fodrie

Area of Interest: Coastal shark ecology, what controls the distribution and movement of sharks in the nearshore environment

Molly Bost
Molly Bost

Email: mbost@live.unc.edu
Office: 110 Coker, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Co-Advisor: Brent McKee and Antonio Rodriguez

Area of Interest: Geochronology and biogeochemistry in coastal sediments

Website/Links:

Rodriguez Lab Website

Rachel Canty
Rachel Canty

Email: rcanty@live.unc.edu
Office: 265 Coker, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: Rachel Noble

Area of Interest: Coastal microbial ecology

Si Chen
Si Chen

Email: sichen@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105B Murray Hall
Advisor: Brian White

Area of Interest: Fluid Mechanics, Acoustics

Charlie Deaton
Charlie Deaton

Email: cddeaton@live.unc.edu
Office: UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: Antonio Rodriguez

Area of Interest: Ecogeomorphology/geoecology in coastal environments

Sarah Donaher
Sarah Donaher

Email: sdonaher@live.unc.edu

Advisor: Charles Peterson

Area of Interest: Coastal Resilience Ecology

Linghan Dong
Linghan Dong

Email: lhdong@email.unc.edu
Office: UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: Hans Paerl

Area of Interest: Phytoplankton Bloom Dynamics

Laura Fisch
Laura Fisch

Email: fischy@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105A Murray/Venable Hall
Advisor: Scott Gifford

Area of Interest: Carbon cycling in marine microbial communities

Jie Gao
Jie Gao

Email: jiegao@email.unc.edu
Office: UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: Rick Luettich

Area of Interest: Use of Numerical Models to Study Hurricane Induced Storm Surge and Inundation

Weida Gong
Weida Gong

Email: wdgong@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105A Venable Hall
Advisor: Adrian Marchetti

Area of Interest: Phytoplankton molecular physiology, marine ecology, bioinformatics

Jana Haddad
Jana Haddad

Email: jhaddad2@live.unc.edu
Office: 3117L Murray/Venable Hall
Advisor: Rick Luettich

Area of Interest: Coastal processes, hydrodynamic modeling

Lu Han
Lu Han

Email: luh@live.unc.edu
Office: 3117K Murray/Venable Hall
Advisor: Harvey Seim

Area of Interest: Physical oceanography & meteorology and coastal water dynamics

Adrienne Hoarfrost
Adrienne Hoarfrost

Email: adrienne.l.hoarfrost@unc.edu
Office: 3105A Murray Hall
Advisor: Carol Arnosti

Area of Interest: Organic Carbon Biogeochemistry

Alexandria Hounshell
Alexandria Hounshell

Email: alexgh@live.unc.edu
Office: UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: Hans Paerl

Area of Interest: Organic Nitrogen cycling in freshwater and estuarine ecosystems

Andrew Hyde
Andrew Hyde

Email: ahyde@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105B Murray
Advisor: Andreas Teske

Area of Interest: Deep-sea microbes and their environments

Kelsey Jesser
Kelsey Jesser

Email: kjesser@live.unc.edu
Office: UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: Rachel Noble

Area of Interest: Coastal microbial ecology

Rob Lampe
Rob Lampe

Email: rhlampe@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105A Venable/Murray Hall
Advisor: Adrian Marchetti

Area of Interest: Phytoplankton physiology, marine ecology, bioinformatics

Chuxuan Li
Chuxuan Li

Email:

Advisor: Wei Mei

Wenjing Liu
Wenjing Liu

Email: wjliu01@live.unc.edu

Advisor: Wei Mei

Steve Lockhart
Steve Lockhart

Email: stephen_lockhart@med.unc.edu
Office: 2102 Bondurant Hall
Advisor: Harvey Seim

Area of Interest: Physical Oceanography

David Marshall
David Marshall

Email: dmarshall@unc.edu
Office: UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: Johanna Rosman

Area of Interest: Turbulence and Mixing in Estuaries

Saulo Mendes
Saulo Mendes

Email: saulomp@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105C Venable/Murray Hall
Advisor: Alberto Scotti

Area of Interest: Geophysical Fluid Dynamics and Nonlinear Water Waves

Carson Miller
Carson Miller

Email: carsonm@live.unc.edu

Advisor: Antonio Rodriguez

Area of Interest: Coastal transgression and geomorphology

Elaine Monbureau
Elaine Monbureau

Email: emonbure@email.unc.edu
Office: 3117V Murray Hall
Advisor: Brian White

Area of Interest: Fluid Dynamics

Carly Moreno
Carly Moreno

Email: cmmoreno@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105B Murray Hall
Advisor: Adrian Marchetti

Area of Interest: Phytoplankton Molecular Physiology

Mike Muglia
Mike Muglia

Email: muglia@csi.northcarolina.edu
Office: UNC Coastal Studies Institute on Roanoke Island, (Skyco) North Carolina
Advisor: Harvey Seim

Area of Interest: Coastal Physical Oceanography

Owen Mulvey-McFerron
Owen Mulvey-McFerron

Email: mulveymo@live.unc.edu

Advisor: Joel Fodrie

Area of Interest: Fisheries ecology

Website/Links:

Fodrie Lab Website

Erika Neave
Erika Neave

Email:

Advisor: Adrian Marchetti

Kathleen Onorevole
Kathleen Onorevole

Email: onorevol@live.unc.edu
Office: UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: Michael Piehler

Area of Interest: Coastal nutrient cycling and restoration

John (JP) Rippe
John (JP) Rippe

Email: jpr6mg@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105A Venable/Murray Hall
Advisor: Karl Castillo

Area of Interest: Coral Reef Ecology and Conservation

Adam Rok
Adam Rok

Email: rok@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105B Murray/Venable Hall
Advisor: Christopher Martens

Area of Interest: Marine Biogeochemistry and how systems interact with each other

Carter Smith
Carter Smith

Email: Scarters@live.unc.edu
Office: UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: Charles "Pete" Peterson

Area of Interest: Coastal Ecology

Jessica Smith
Jessica Smith

Email: jsmith22@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105A Murray Hall
Advisor: Rick Luettich

Area of Interest: Physical modeling and mapping

Lauren Speare
Lauren Speare

Email: lspeare@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105B Murray Hall
Advisor: Alecia Septer

Area of Interest: Marine Microbial Ecology

Jessamin Straub
Jessamin Straub

Email:

Advisor: Antonio Rodriguez

Maxwell Tice-Lewis
Maxwell Tice-Lewis

Email: mwell13@ad.unc.edu
Office: UNC Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC
Advisor: F. Joel Fodrie

Area of Interest: Fisheries ecology with a focus on oyster reef macrofaunal community dynamics over space and time

Bryce Van Dam
Bryce Van Dam

Email: bvandam@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105B Venable/Murray Hall
Advisor: Hans Paerl

Area of Interest: Biogeochemical Cycling

Tim Wahl
Tim Wahl

Email: twahl@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105B Murray/Venable Hall
Advisor: Christopher Martens

Area of Interest: Coastal biogeochemistry and nutrient cycling

Mollie Yacano
Mollie Yacano

Email: moyacano@live.unc.edu

Advisor: Michael Piehler

Area of Interest: Coastal biogeochemistry

Barbara Zemskova
Barbara Zemskova

Email: zemskova@live.unc.edu
Office: 3307 Venable Hall
Advisor: Brian White

Area of Interest: Fluid Dynamics