Spring 2014 Seminars

Nathan Hall, IMS
Range Expansion of Brown Tide Blooms: A Threat to North Carolina's Coastal Waters?

Wed, Apr 30
Christopher A. Scholin, Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Inst.
Fostering Science-Engineering Partnerships as a Means to Develop Next-Generation Ocean Observations

Wed, Apr 23
Serena Hackerott
Effects of Invasive Lionfish on the Functional Diversity of Reef Fish Communities in Belize

Mon, Apr 21
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Research Seminar

Ruoying He, NCSU
Observational and Modeling Study of Ocean Circulation, Air-sea Interactions, and Biogeochemical Processes Off the U.S. Eastern Seaboard and Gulf of Mexico Coast

Wed, Apr 16
Alecia Septer, Harvard University
Cooperation vs Competition: Bacterial Social Interactions Govern Population Structure and Function

Mon, Apr 14
Dr. Ruth E. Blake, Yale
Fe-bound P Reservoir

Thu, Apr 10
Johanna Rosman, IMS
Measuring and Understanding the Turbulent Mixing in Estuarine and Coastal Systems

Wed, Apr 9
John R. Delaney, UW
Understanding the Planetary Life Support System: Next-Generation Science in the Ocean Basins

Wed, Apr 2
Kelsey Ellis
Variations in the Vitamin B12 Requirements and Interactions with Iron within Bloom-forming Diatoms

Mon, Mar 31
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Research Seminar

G. Brooks Avery, UNC – Wilmington
Occurence and Fate of Biofuel Ethanol in the Environment

Wed, Mar 26
Brett J Baker, University of Michigan
Leveraging Omic Approaches to Understand Microbial Communities in Nature

Wed, Mar 19
Kellen Lauer
Quantitative analysis of fecal contamination in stormwater conveyance systems in Wrightsville Beach, NC

Tue, Mar 18
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Research Seminar

Megan Schutt
Colonization Potential and reef Ecology on Ocean Energy Structures

Mon, Mar 17
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Interdisciplinary Seminar

Shady Amin, University of Washington
Auxin-Based Interactions Prevalent in the Marine Environment

Wed, Mar 5
Zena Cardman
Mega Mat's Subsurface Bio-geo-niches

Mon, Mar 3
Scott Gifford, MIT
A Systems View of Bacterial Roles in the Marine Carbon Cycle

Wed, Feb 19
Kelsey Ellis
Rise of the Frankenfish: The Potential Effects of Transgenic Salmon on Marine Ecosystems

Mon, Feb 17
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Interdisciplinary Seminar

Ian Kroll
Discerning Patterns of Larval Connectivity and Dispersal Among a Network of Oyster Spawning Sanctuaries

Wed, Feb 12
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Research Seminar

Serena Hackerott
Shark Electroreception and its Implications for Conservation

Mon, Feb 10
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Interdisciplinary Seminar

John Paul Balmonte
The Impact of a Large Storm Disturbance on Microbial Community Composition in the Tar River of NC

Wed, Feb 5
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Interdisciplinary Seminar

Dr. Brent McKee
Barriers, Buffers, and Floods: Oh My! - A River's Roller Coaster Ride to the Sea

Mon, Feb 3
Avery Bullock
The Visual Capabilities of Stomatopods in Shallow Water Benthic Environments

Mon, Jan 27
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Interdisciplinary Seminar

Dr. Zachary Johnson, Duke University
The Life and Times of Prochlorococcus, a Dominant Marine Cyanobacteria of Global Significance

Wed, Jan 22
Vamsi Chalamalla, UC – San Diego
Turbulence and Mixing Driven By Internal Tides

Wed, Jan 15