Spring 2013 Seminars

Emily Gray
Importance of Groundwater to DOC Fluxes in the Gulf of Mexico

Fri, Apr 26
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Research Seminar

Kimm Horvath
Ocean warming and CO2-induced ocean acidification impairs calcification within the Caribbean reef-building coral Siderastrea sidera

Wed, Apr 24
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Research Seminar

Dr. Mark E. Luther, Univ of South FL
Ocean Monitoring and Prediction Systems: from Water Quality to Maritime Transporation

Fri, Apr 19
Natalie Cohen
Effects of Iron and External Biotin on Biotin Production in Diatoms

Fri, Apr 19
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Research Seminar

Virginia Edgcomb, WHOI
Microbial Eukaryotes in Oxygen-Depleted and Sulfidic Marine Water Columns and Seidments

Wed, Apr 17
Linghan Dong

Wed, Apr 17
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Research Seminar

John Hunt, Florida Fisheries
Creating a Large No-Take Area in the Dry Tortugas Florida: the Role of Science, Process, Persistence, and People

Wed, Apr 10
Justin Ridge
Fire on the Mountain: Wildfires and the Fate of Runoff From Wildfire Ravaged Lands

Mon, Apr 8
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Interdisciplinary Seminar

Dr. Wally Fulweiler, Boston University (Gussenhoven Lecture)
Climate, Carbon, and Marine Heterotrophic Nitrogen Fixation

Wed, Apr 3
Ian Kroll
Exploring the Sounds of the Sea: Mechanisms of Fish Bioacoustics

Mon, Apr 1
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Interdisciplinary Seminar

Dr. Chirstof Meile, UGA
Worms Making Waves: the Importance of Dynamics of Bioirrigation

Wed, Mar 27
Kellen Lauer
Seagrass-sediment Dynamics: Flow and Sedimentation in Zostera marina and Posidonia oceanicabeds

Mon, Mar 25
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Interdisciplinary Seminar

Dr. Scott Wankel, WHOI
Isotope by Isotope: Towards Unraveling the Complexity of Marine Nitrogen Sources and Cycling

Wed, Mar 20
Rick Peterson, Coastal Carolina University
Groundwater - Surface Water Exchange: From Shallows to the Deep

Wed, Mar 6
Adrienne Hoarfrost
Wave Power: Progress Toward Commercialization

Mon, Mar 4
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Interdisciplinary Seminar

Dr. Robert C. Aller, SUNY – Stony Brook
Diagenetic Regimes and Benthic Biogeochemical Cycling

Wed, Feb 27
Barbara Zemskova
Tsunamis: Methods to Identify Them in Deposits

Mon, Feb 25
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Interdisciplinary Seminar

Kimmaree Horvath
Hydrothermal Vents: Life's First Home?

Fri, Feb 22
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Interdisciplinary Seminar

Melitza Crespo-Medina, East Carolina University
Water Column Methane Dynamics in response to the Deepwater Horizon Hydrocarbon Spill

Wed, Feb 20
John Paul Balmonte
Natural Variability of the Arctic Oscillation Drives Sea-Ice Dynamics, Influencing Arctic Primary Production

Mon, Feb 11
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Interdisciplinary Seminar

Emily Gray
Mesoscale Eddies and Their Influence on Marine Biogeochemistry

Mon, Feb 4
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Interdisciplinary Seminar

Luke McKay
Constraining Microbial Carbon and Sulfur Cycling in Guaymas Basin Hydrothermal Sediments: Energetic Limits, Thermal Stressors, and Upward Compression of Metabolic Zones

Wed, Jan 30
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Research Seminar

Verena Salman
Reclassification of Giant Sulfur Bacteria Reveals Multiple Self-Splicing Introns in 16S rRNA Genes

Wed, Jan 23
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Research Seminar