Fall 2013 Seminars

Adrienne Hoarfrost
Patterns of Organic Carbon Degradation in the South Atlantic

Wed, Dec 4
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Research Seminar

Dr. Mary Alice Coffroth, UB
Symbiont Acquisition in Cnidarian-Algal Symbioses

Wed, Nov 20
Dr. Molly Redmond, UNC – Charlotte
Microbial response to the Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill

Wed, Nov 13
Dr. Sean P. Place, USC – Columbia
High Latitude Fish in High CO2 Environments

Wed, Nov 6
Carly Moreno
Algal Biofuels as an Alternative Energy Source

Mon, Nov 4
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Interdisciplinary Seminar

Gary Dickinson, CNJ
Shellfish in a Changing Ocean: Interactive Effects of Ocean Acidification, Temperature, and Salinity on Shell Mechanics and Structure

Wed, Oct 30
Tye Pettay, UDel
Frome Clade to Clone

Wed, Oct 23
Caitlin White
Marsh Accretion vs. Sea Level Rise: Will Salt Marshes Keep Up?

Mon, Oct 7
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Research Seminar

Dr. Jeffrey R. White, IU
Evaluating Methane Dynamics in Lakes, Wetlands, and Soils at the Edge of the Greenland Ice Sheet as Mars Analogs

Wed, Oct 2
Avery Bullock
A Multi-season Investigation of Microbial Community Activities in the Neuse and Tar-Pamlico Rivers

Wed, Sep 25
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Research Seminar

Emily Elliot
Assessing Mechanisms for Coastal Estaurine Sediment Erosion and Transport in a Changing World

Mon, Sep 23
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Research Seminar

Amy Pflaumer
The Role of Microcystin in Intracellular Protection Against Oxidative Stress During cynoHABs

Mon, Sep 23
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Research Seminar

Justin Campbell, SMS
Responses from a Tropical Seagrass Bed

Wed, Sep 18
Dr. Cassandre Lazar
The Mysterious Ubiquitous Benthic Uncultured Archaea

Wed, Sep 11
Dr. Brian Hopkinson, UGA
Mechanistic Explanations for the Effects of Rising CO2 on Phytoplankton and Coral

Wed, Sep 4