Fall 2012 Seminars

John Paul Balmonte
Effects of a Hurricane Disturbance on Riverine Microbial Communities and Their Subsequent Recovery

Wed, Dec 5
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Research Seminar

Natalie Cohen
Effects of Ocean Acidification of Trace Metals: Implications for Bioavailability

Mon, Dec 3
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Interdisciplinary Seminar

Jie Gao
Dispersal and Recruitment of Oyster Larvae in the Pamlico Sound: Physical and Biological Controls

Mon, Nov 19
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Interdisciplinary Seminar

Anna Jalowska
Response of River Coastal Margins to Human Induced Variations in Sediment Supply and Accelerated Sea-Level Rise

Wed, Nov 14
Amy Pflaumer
The Fate of Radionuclides Released into the Pacific Ocean During the Fukushima Daiichi Accident

Mon, Nov 12
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Interdisciplinary Seminar

Dr. Phillip Dustan, College of Charleston
Digital Reef Rugosity

Wed, Nov 7
Travis Courtney
Effects of Warming and CO2-Induced Ocean Acidification on Calcification of the Tropical Urchin Echinometra viridis

Mon, Nov 5
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Research Seminar

David Kirchman, University of Delaware
Anaerobic Degradation of Organic Material in Methane-Rich Sediments of the Arctic Ocean as Revealed by Metagenomics

Wed, Oct 31
Dr. Claudia Benitez-Nelson, University of South Carolina
The Toxin Express: What Controls the Magnitude and Variability o the Downward Transport of Domoic Acid in Coastal Waters

Wed, Oct 24
Kenneth Nealson, University of Southern California
Extracellular Electron Transport (EET): New Data and New Thoughts in the World of Geomicrobiology

Wed, Oct 10
Tom Curtis, Newcastle University
Neutral Models in Microbial Ecology: There Might Just Be Something in It

Wed, Oct 3
Matt Schrenk, East Carolina University
Microbial Clues to Carbon Flow Through the Serpentinite Subsurface Biosphere

Wed, Sep 26
Sungduk Yu
Submarine Ground water Discharge: Its Physical Drivers and Ecological Effects

Mon, Sep 24
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Interdisciplinary Seminar

Dr. Mary Ann Moran, University of Georgia
Sizing Up Metatranscriptomics

Wed, Sep 19
Dr. Neal Blair, Northwestern University
Global Patterns in the Transformation of Particulate Organic Carbon from Terrestrial Source to Marine Sink

Wed, Sep 5
Rick Peterson, Coastal Carolina University
Groundwater - Surface Water Exchange: From Shallows to the Deep

Wed, Aug 29