Fall 2011 Seminars

Linghan Dong
Modern Climate Change: Do We Really See It? Regional Evidence Explored from the Eastern Coastal Regions of China and the U.S.

Wed, Dec 7
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Interdisciplinary Seminar

Winnie Yu
Influence of Methane Seeps on Deep-Sea Corals

Fri, Dec 2
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Interdisciplinary Seminar

Dr. Karl D. Castillo
Effects of Temperature and CO2-Induced Ocean Acidifcation on Calcification and Extension Rates of the Tropical Zooxanthellate Scleractinian Coral (Siderastrea siderea)

Wed, Nov 30
Dan Hoer
Algal Turf Scrubbers: A Radical Approach to the Bioremediation of Eutrofied Estuarine Systems

Wed, Nov 16
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Interdisciplinary Seminar

Winnie Yu
Controls of Varying Antecedent Topography and Lithology on Barrier-Island Evolution and Facies Architecture, Onslow Beach, NC

Wed, Nov 9
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Research Seminar

Prof. Jeremy Jackson, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Brave New Ocean: Marine Ecosystems at Risk

Wed, Nov 2
Barbara MacGregor
Why Are Orange Guaymas Basin Beggiatoa Orange?

Wed, Oct 26
Prof. Ginger Armbrust, UW – Seattle
Comparative Genomics of Marine Microbes

Tue, Oct 18
William Sunda, NOAA
Evolutionary Strategies in Marine Phytoplankton: Interrelated Influence of Nutrients, Cell Size, and Grazing Defense

Wed, Oct 12
Prof. Walker O. Smith Jr., Virginia Institute of Marine Science
Phytoplankton Growth and Oceanographic Variability in the Ross Sea: An Illusion of Knowledge?

Wed, Oct 5
Seth John, University of South Carolina
3D Ocean: Iron Isotopes and the Marine Biogeochemical Cycling of Fe

Wed, Sep 28
John Gunnell
Assessing the Bioavailability of Iron Sources

Fri, Sep 23
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Interdisciplinary Seminar

Anna Jalowska
Predicting the Effects of Global Climate Change on Populations of Antarctic Krill (Euphausia superba)

Wed, Sep 21
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Interdisciplinary Seminar

Prof. Jaye Cable
Subsurface Paleochannels as Zones for Transport and Reactivity in River Deltas

Wed, Sep 14
Jennifer Prairie
New Insights Into Small-Scale Vertical Distributions of Phytoplankton

Wed, Sep 7
UNC Marine Sciences – Student Research Seminar

Prof. Adrian Marchetti
Using Functional Genomics to Interpret the Language of Phytoplankton

Wed, Aug 31